Tricks of the Trade: A Digital Planbook

I’ve completed week three of student teaching at Newburyport High, and I’m wholeheartedly embracing my sleepless life of paper correcting and lesson designing. As my hours of sleep decline, however, so does my ability to keep my lesson plans straight. This is where my new lifesaving teacher tool comes in. Planbook.

I learned of this fantastic teacher tool from Newburyport High’s much loved and flawlessly organized English teacher, Wendy Crofts. Planbook is an online lesson planner that allows you to map out your days by lesson or period. Not only can you rearrange, delete, or add lessons to a schedule, you can also share the schedule with other teachers or a substitute. Each lesson module features several tabs, including fields for summarizing your lesson, listing homework, making notes to yourself or to a sub, and selecting state standards from a dropdown menu! See the screenshot from one of my lesson modules below:

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 4.12.47 AM.png

Below is a screenshot of my still fairly disorganized Planbook for the past week. The snow day threw a real monkey wrench in the plans, but, with Planbook, I can drag and drop lessons, so I was able to shift the schedule around with minimal mess.

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.50.30 PM

Planbook does charge a minimal $12 a year, but that seems supremely reasonable to me. Based on my internet meanderings, it seems like there are a few different sites out there that provide similar services, including

I haven’t had the chance to test drive any of these other programs; however, I can’t imagine I’ll ever stray from my new long-term relationship with Planbook. Till death do us part, Planbook.

Leave a Reply

